Deutsch Intern
Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie

Student training awards

Student training award

for Prof. Dr. Haye Hinrichsen in 2006

Prof. Dr. Haye Hinrichsen, professor at the faculty's Chair of Theoretical Physics III, received the "Student Training Award 2006" on October 5th 2007 for his commitment to student training, together with his colleague Dr. Ulrich Wehner of the University of Würzburg (Faculty of Philosophy III).

Every year the Bavarian Ministry of Education and Cultural Affairs awards 15 Prizes for good student training. As the minister announced in Munich, the Prizes worth 4000 euros honor exceptional work in student training. The awards create an incentive at the universities to promote commitment to student training and to illustrate that student training has equal status with research. Whereas achievements in research are promoted by the possibility to receive third party funds, such an incentive was missing for exceptional commitment to student training. Additionally, the awards are meant to support the work of deans of studies. Further, the ministry hopes to positively effect studies.

The Prizes are awarded to full-time teaching staff members of Bavarian universities on the president's recommendation. It is required for the recipient to have done exceptional work in student training at a Bavarian university for at least two academic years. When making the choice, student opinions have to be considered; a senate decision is also required.

The Universities of Augsburg, Bamberg, Bayreuth and Passau each receive one prize, the Universities of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Regensburg, Würzburg and the Technical University of Munich each receive two and the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich receives three prizes.